Scam E-mails
Posted: 19 September 2007 05:42 PM   [ Ignore ]  
Diamond
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  698
Joined  2006-12-08

I am not sure how many of you have received this scam e-mail, but I was surprised when I received it today. 

> Notification of Tax Refund on your VISA or MasterCard Now,

> After the last annual calculations of your fiscal activity we have determined
that you are eligible to receive a tax refund of $209.30.

> A refund can be delayed for a variety of reasons.

Fox example submitting invalid records or applying after the deadline.

> Sorry for any inconvenience this may cause and thank you for your patience.

> To access the form for your tax refund please click the link below

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx (I blacked out the link.)

> Note: For security reasons, we will record your ip-address, the date and time.

Deliberate wrong inputs are criminally pursued and indicated.

Regards,

Internal Revenue Service

© Copyright 2007, Internal Revenue Service U.S.A.

EULPMFLPUQZXYWXJJHEHCCFYZZXJNPSXPZFRID

That sad part of this is that the e-mail came with a dot gov e-mail address.

I find that I am getting more and more of these types of e-mails.  It saddens me that someone might lose everything if they were to reply to one of official looking e-mail.

So, have any of you received an e-mail like this?

Thomas

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2007 08:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  654
Joined  2006-12-07

Thomas, can you post their email address? 

The link that they gave you which you Xed out was a redirect--it was to a scam site but they made it look like the IRS site.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 September 2007 09:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]  
Double Platinum
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  395
Joined  2006-12-09

I’ve gotten many of them too and don’t understand why so many people fall for them, but apparently, they do because it’s a very lucrative “business.” We received notification from our legal department today that two individuals have reported being contacted by phone, claiming to be someone from H&R Block and telling them that they’ve received “federal grant money” due to information contained in their Block prepared tax return.  They’re asked to provide their social security number and pay a “handling fee” of $300+ in order to receive their grant.  Both scams took place in CA.  Please feel free to send me a PM if you, or anyone you know, receives a call like this from anyone claiming to be from H&R Block.  It’s a federal crime because it involves federal grant money used as the “bait.”

Beth

 Signature 

Bulletproof

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 September 2007 06:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]  
Diamond
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  698
Joined  2006-12-08

Nancy,

The e-mail address from the sender is service @ IRS.gov

Thomas

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 September 2007 09:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]  
Newbie
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  49
Joined  2006-12-08

thomas, it’s REALLY easy to “send” from an e-mail address that’s not your own.  i’ve been able to set up an e-mail that comes from “god@heaven.com” (as a practical joke on one of my good friends...she got a KICK out of it). 

they do that the same way those paypal scammers do it, sending an e-mail from “service @ paypal.com”.  not hard at all.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2007 02:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]  
Double Platinum
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  392
Joined  2007-01-12

Couple days ago I received a scam e-mail.  It was a variant on the Nigerian Scam (I need help getting money out of an account, give me you’re account and I send it to you, you get 25%, etc.).  This one purported to come from a little old lady calling on good Christians to help her out after her husbands death to get the money out of an account for her and her sick son.

Trying to play on my greed, that’s bad.  Trying to play on my Christian nature, that makes me mad.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 February 2008 08:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]  
Diamond
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  698
Joined  2006-12-08

I recieved this classic scam e-mail today. 

Dear member:

The security of your personal data is our utmost concern at Valley National Bank. This is why we are sending you this urgent message. We are updating our security software, and we need you to confirm your account information urgently. This is intended to provide you with the best security possible when accessing your account online.

Please follow the link below to start the security update:

Valley National Bank

It is our commitment to you that access to your financial information is appropriately secure.
We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and appreciate your patience and understanding.

Sincerely,
Valley National Bank

=======

Thomas

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 February 2008 03:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]  
Moderator
Avatar
RankRankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  654
Joined  2006-12-07

I’m shutting down one of my email accounts because I’m getting 12-30 emails like that (and worse) a day.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 February 2008 11:25 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]  
Newbie
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  49
Joined  2006-12-08

just a recommendation...get a gmail account.  set up your other e-mails to forward to it, and you can set up in your gmail to send from your other accounts.  gmail has THE best spam filtering.  i’ve had mine for about 3 years and only about 10 e-mails have missed the filter.  seriously.  it’s the best ever.  i HATE my AOL because no matter how many times i tell it that e-mails from x account are spam, they still get delivered to my inbox.  i HATE it.

Profile